I SPEAK FOR THE BUSH- EVERETT STANDA

I speak for the bush

When my friend sees me

He swells and pants like a frog

Because I talk the wisdom of the bush!

He says we from the bush

Do not understand civilized ways

For we tell our women

To keep the hem of their dresses

Below the knee.

We from the bush, my friend insists,

Do not know how to ‘enjoy’:

When we come to the civilized city,

Like nuns, we stay away from nightclubs

Where women belong to no men

And men belong to no women.

And these civilized people

Quarrel and fight like hungry lions!

 

But, my friend, why do men

With crippled legs, lifeless eyes,

Wooden legs, empty stomachs

Wander about the streets

Of this civilized world?

 

Teach me, my friend, the trick,

So that my eyes may not

See those whose houses have no walls

But emptiness all around;

Show me the wax you use

To seal your ears

To stop hearing the cry of the hungry;

 

Teach me the new wisdom

Which tells men

To talk about money and not love,

When they meet women;

 

Tell your God to convert

Me to the faith of indifferent,

The faith of those

Who will never listen until

They are shaken with blows.

 

I speak for the bush:

You speak for the civilized-

Will you hear me?

Everett Standa

 

Leave a comment